The Scientific Advisory Committee group photo

Our Scientific Advisory Committee

Our Scientific Advisory Committee

We receive around 400 ideas from scientists all over the world every year. We want to make sure only the most innovative, creative and exciting research is funded. So we leave the selecting process to the experts - our Scientific Advisory Committee. This Committee is made of eminent cancer specialists who give up their time voluntarily to assess, review and judge the ideas we receive each year. The breadth of knowledge and depth of experience of our committee members ensure that only research of the highest calibre is funded. It’s always about the quality of the science and the novelty of the idea.

Scientific Advisory Committee Members:

Dr Olivia Rossanese, The Institute of Cancer Research, London, England (Chair)

Dr João Barata, University of Lisbon, Portugal

Dr Renata Basto, Curie Institute, Paris, France

Professor Adrian Bracken, Trinity College Dublin, Republic of Ireland

Professor Boudewijn Burgering, University Medical Center Utrecht, Netherlands

Professor Oriol Casanovas, Catalan Institute of Oncology, IDIBELL, Barcelona, Spain

Professor Petr Cejka, Institute for Research in Biomedicine, Bellinzona, Switzerland

Professor Neta Erez, Tel Aviv University, Israel

Professor Jonine Figueroa, University of Edinburgh, Scotland

Dr Pim French, Erasmus Medical Centre, Rotterdam, Netherlands

Professor Awen Gallimore, Cardiff University, Wales

Dr Maite Huarte, University of Navarra, Spain

Dr Sheeba Irshad, King’s College London, England

Dr Yogesh Kulathu, University of Dundee, Scotland

Professor Simon Leedham, University of Oxford, England

Dr Daniel Lietha, Center for Biological Research (CIB-CSIC)​, Madrid, Spain

Professor Marcos Malumbres, Spanish National Cancer Research Centre (CNIO), Madrid, Spain

Professor Ruth Palmer, University of Gothenburg, Gothenburg, Sweden

Dr Laura Rosenberg, Astra Zeneca, England

Dr Vincenzo Russo, San Raffaele Scientific Institute, Milan, Italy

Professor Primo Schaer, University of Basel, Switzerland

Professor John Spencer, University of Sussex, England

Professor Jan Jacob Schuringa, University of Groningen, Netherlands

Professor Louis Vermeulen, Academic Medical Centre, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Research projects we're funding

Find out about the projects our Scientific Advisory Committee have helped us to fund

Research projects we fund

Join our monthly newsletter

Keep up to date with all our latest news, events, groundbreaking research discoveries and much more!

You're now a Curestarter!

Our newsletter usually drops towards the end of each month

Thanks for subscribing